CAPTIVA COMMUNITY PANEL

Feb. 13, 2024, meeting

AGENDA

Meeting convened at 9 a.m. – see Zoom log-in details below Email the panel: captivacommunitypanel@gmail.com

9:00 a.m. Introductions and roll call; approval of Dec. 12, 2023, and Jan. 9, 2024, minutes.

9:05 a.m. Updates: Order will be based on availability, not all speakers have confirmed their attendance.

- LCSO update Sgt. Rich Zeltman
- Captiva Fire District update Chief Jeff Pawul
- CEPD update Daniel Munt, executive director
- SCCF update Matt DePaolis, Environmental Policy Director
- South Seas update Bob Walter, South Seas Island Resort
- 9:30 a.m. County/South Seas redevelopment permit and legal/legislative update David Mintz
- 9:50 a.m. Captiva Drive vegetation David Mintz
- 10:05 a.m. Format of upcoming panel meetings Jay Brown
- 10:20 a.m. Wastewater Committee update Jay Brown
- 10:25 a.m. Stormwater Committee update Linda Laird
- 10:30 a.m. Iguanas John Jensen
- 10:35 a.m. Development Committee Ann Brady
- 10:40 a.m. Financials Ken Gooderham
- 10:45 a.m. Panel members' comments & questions
 Audience comments & questions (use Zoom Q&A messaging to submit questions & comments)
 NOTE: Anonymous questions will not be answered during the meeting
- Adjourn

Next Captiva Community Panel meeting scheduled for March 12

One or more elected or appointed local government officials, including but not limited to officials with the Captiva Erosion Prevention District, may be in attendance at this meeting.

You are invited to a Zoom webinar. When: Feb 13, 2024 09:00 AM Eastern Time (US and Canada) Topic: February 2024 Captiva Community Panel meeting Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84438963927?pwd=YW5EcIJXaWwxTjBsSHZCWk1BMGJNUT09 Passcode: 193589 Telephone: +1 305 224 1968 US +1 646 931 3860 US +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC) +1 929 205 6099 US (New York) +1 309 205 3325 US +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago) +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston) +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma) +1 360 209 5623 US +1 386 347 5053 US +1 507 473 4847 US +1 564 217 2000 US +1 669 444 9171 US +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose) +1 689 278 1000 US +1 719 359 4580 US +1 253 205 0468 US Webinar ID: 844 3896 3927 / Passcode: 193589

2024 panel officers:

- President: Jay Brown
- Vice president: David Mintz
- Secretary: Bruce McDonald
- Treasurer: Tony Lapi

Captiva Community Panel obligations

1) Publish an annual schedule of meetings after the December meeting.

2) Re-elect panel members (or elect new panel members) for those whose terms expire (see below). Panel officers will be elected at the January meeting after the new panel members are installed.

3) Develop and approve an annual budget no later than the December meeting.

4) Bylaws revisions will be addressed as necessary. Any amendment requires 60 days' notice prior to vote, and approval requires a two-thirds vote of the full panel at a panel meeting where a quorum is present.

5) The president shall appoint a Nominating Committee of at least three members (only one of which can be a panel member) by the March meeting, for ratification by the panel members at that meeting. The committee (along with the CPOA and CCA appointments) will offer a slate of candidates at the October meeting, for a vote at the December meeting. See bylaws for more detail.

PANEL SEAT ASSIGNMENTS:

- CPOA: Ken Gill, Bruce McDonald, Sandy Stilwell-Youngquist, Margarethe Thye-Miville, Ken Suarez
- CCA: Jay Brown, Ann Brady
- PANEL: John Jensen, Linda Laird, Tony Lapi, David Mintz

TERM STAT:

- Expires in December 2024 and termed out: Jay Brown
- Expires in December 2024 with another three-year term possible: David Mintz, Ken Gill
- Expires in December 2025 and termed out: Ann Brady, John Jensen, Tony Lapi
- Expires in December 2025 with another three-year term possible: Sandy Stilwell-Youngquist, Margarethe Thye-Miville
- Expires in December 2026 and termed out: Linda Laird, Bruce McDonald
- Expires in December 2026 with another three-year term possible: Ken Suarez

Article 6, Section 2 -- Terms of Office

Panel Members shall serve terms running for a period of three (3) consecutive years commencing at the Regular January meeting. Panel Members may be appointed or elected pursuant to these Bylaws for a second three (3) year term, for a maximum of six (6) consecutive years. Panel Members having completed two (2) consecutive terms on the Panel shall not be eligible for re-appointment to the Panel unless and until a period of one (1) year has expired since the completion of the last term served by such Panel Member. A Panel Member filling a vacancy pursuant to Article Six, Section 6.C. for a period of 18 months or more shall be deemed to have served a full three (3) year term. Such Panel Member shall be eligible for a second three (3) year term. A Panel Member filling a vacancy for a period of less than 18 months shall be eligible for two additional three (3) year terms

Article 5, Section 1 -- Election of Officers

At its first January meeting following its annual meeting in December, the Panel shall elect Officers of the Panel who shall serve a one (1) year term or until the end of their term on the Panel, whichever period is the lesser. The terms of office shall commence at the Regular January meeting. Mandatory Panel nominations and elections as necessary shall be held for the following offices: President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The Panel may also choose to elect other officers as may be desired from time to time. Election of officers may not occur without a quorum of the Members being first established.