Captiva Community Panel
Wastewater alternatives study

In 2015 the Captiva Community Panel formed a Wastewater Committee to review and evaluate alternative long-term wastewater strategies for the island. This action was a response to community requests expressed in Panel workshops and surveys.

The Wastewater Committee conducted fact-finding meetings with septic system engineers, Florida Governmental Utility Authority (FGUA), Sanibel city leaders and staff, the Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation (SCCF) and Lee County staff. The information gathered from these meetings was presented to the Captiva Community Panel in late 2016.

The Panel recommended that Lee County retain outside experts to undertake a comprehensive review of Captiva’s wastewater options. After several meetings the Panel and Lee County staff agreed upon study objectives and design. The project was authorized and funded by the county in March 2017.

Following a Request for Proposals, county staff selected TKW Consulting Engineers, a Fort Myers-based engineering firm, to complete the study, which should be reported to the Captiva community via public meetings in late spring 2018.

After completion of the TKW study and public presentation of findings, the Panel will consider a long-term wastewater strategy recommendation for Captiva. This effort will proceed with full public transparency and ample opportunity for public input to the process.

For more background, please download and review the following:

  • A summary of the Wastewater Committee’s fact-finding to date.
  • The final scope of the county wastewater study.
  • Background information on TKW Consulting Engineers.
  • A recording of the committee's Jan. 9, 2018 workshop is here (large file, sound quality may be mixed). Notes from the meeting are inlcuded in the panel minutes from that date.


Any questions relating to this review can be directed to Jay Brown, Chair of the Captiva Community Panel Wastewater Committee, at Jay Brown and other members of the wastewater committee will attend public meetings as requested by Captiva organizations to explain further the Committee’s work to date, and respond to any questions.

The Wastewater Committee includes Jay Brown, David Mintz, Dave Jensen, Mike Mullins, Bob Walter and Mike Kelly.