The Captiva Island Property Owners Association serves as the sponsor and primary fund-raising engine of the Captiva Community Panel. Members of the CPOA board are all long-time island residents, and they are dedicated to preserving Captiva for future generations.


The Captiva Island Property Owners
Association Board


• President: Rene Miville, a resident of the "Gold Coast," has owned property on the island since 1986 and has been a full-time resident since 1988. As a former member of the Captiva Erosion Prevention District, he worked to help Captiva develop the nation's first Emergency Response Plan to build back the island's beaches in the event of a major hurricane.

Vice President: Jim Boyle holds a B.S. in Food Technology from Rutgers University and a M.E. in Operations Engineering from Penn State. He has had a long and successful career worldwide as a manufacturing executive and board member with T.J. Lipton, Ragu Foods, Inc., and Unilever, N.A. In 1996, Jim founded and operated an Australian-based wildflower export company and a U.S.-based fresh cut wild and exotic flower import company. Jim and his wife Fran became residents in 1997 when they purchased their historically-designated home,"Gardenia House." They are lifetime members of SCCF and members of both the Captiva Civic Association and the Captiva Property Owners Association. Jim also serves as chair of the Captiva Erosion Prevention District.

Treasurer: Mike Kelly, a South Seas owner for many years, served as CEO of the real estate division of the Dayton Hudson Corporation (now Target Corporation) and also served as president of the Washington, DC-based Urban Land Institute, the premier international land use and planning organization. Kelly is also a member of the Captiva Civic Association.

Secretary: Sandy Stilwell is CEO and owner of numerous Captiva businesses including the Captiva Island Inn; Keylime Bistro; RC Otter's Island Eats; Cantina Captiva; Sunshine Seafood Cafe and Wine Bar; Captiva Pizza, Yogurt and Gift Emporium; and Latte Da Coffee;. as well as a number of mainland resturants.

Board members: Dave Jensen, Susan Stuart, Mike Mullins, Paul McCarthy, Dave Bornhorst,.and Gordon Hullar.


Copyright 2015 Captiva Community Panel